Tuesday, December 06, 2016

Google launches Trusted Contacts App lets you share your location with loved ones

Google has launched a new personal safety app dubbed as Trusted Contacts which lets you share your location with loved ones in everyday situations and in case of emergencies. The app will work even if your phone is offline.


After installing the app you can add  the “trusted” status to your closest friends and family. The contact limit is 50, but Google expects that most people will just opt to use 5 or 6. Your trusted contacts will be able to see your activity status but this feature is enitrely opt-in and you can deny the access to your location at any point. If you find yourself in a situation where you feel unsafe, you can share your actual location with your trusted contacts. You can deny request from any of your trusted contacts if you are okay but if you are unable to respond within a reasonable timeframe, your location is shared automatically and your loved ones can determine the best way to help you out.

You can broadcast your location at any given moment to any of your trusted contacts, who will be able to see your real-time location until you end the location sharing. The app also works offline and it will inform your contacts about your last known location. Trusted Contacts is currently only available on Android.

SHARE
Stay connected with us for more Tech News Facebook Twitter  Instagram YouTube Android App Subscribe by Email

No comments:

Post a Comment